The Power over Ethernet (PoE) cable power supply allows a voltage of 48 V, up to 13 watts of electrical power, in addition to 100 Mbit/s or 1 Gbit/s data. This technology is defined by the IEEE 802.3af standard, part of the IEEE 802.3 (Ethernet) standard ratified on 11 June 2003 and published on 11 July 2003.

An Ethernet cable consists of four pairs of wires. When the connection is established at 100 Mbit/s, data is transmitted over only two pairs, namely wires 1, 2, 3 and 6. The other two unused pairs, namely wires 4, 5, 7 and 8, can be used to carry electrical current. PoE can "pass" through the wires of the data pairs, this mode of operation is then called "end-point" or through the wires of the unused pairs in 100 Mbit/s in "mid-span" mode.

 

When the connection is established at 1 Gbit/s, all four wire pairs are used for data.

 

This technology has evolved to provide more power and is called PoE+.

 

  • PoE vs PoE+ :

IEEE 802.3af (PoE): The power supply provided by the equipment (switch, injector) is a maximum of 15.4 W for a maximum power of 12.9 W at the device. The nominal voltage is 48V, and can vary from 44V to 57V in transmission.

 

IEEE 802.3at (PoE+): If both the equipment providing the power and the device meet this standard, then a maximum power of 25.5 W at the device can be used for a maximum emission of 30 W, always for a nominal voltage of 48V.

 

An Ethernet cable consists of four pairs of wires. When the connection is established at 100 Mbit/s, the data is transmitted on only two pairs, namely wires 1, 2, 3 and 6. The other two unused pairs, namely wires 4, 5, 7 and 8, can be used to carry electrical current. PoE can "pass" through the wires of the data pairs, this mode of operation is then called "end-point" or through the wires of the unused pairs in 100 Mbit/s in "mid-span" mode.

 

When the connection is established at 1 Gbit/s, all four wire pairs are used for data.

FRENETIK
1 allée d'Effiat - Le Parc de l'Événement
91160 Longjumeau - France

Phone: + 33 (0) 1 69 10 50 81  -  Email : info@frenetik.fr

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône

© 2018 FRENETIK | Privacy Policy | Warranty

FRENETIK
1 allée d'Effiat - Le Parc de l'Événement
91160 Longjumeau - France

Tél. : + 33 (0) 1 69 10 50 81  -  Email : info@frenetik.fr

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône

© 2018 FRENETIK | Mentions légales | Garantie

L'alimentation électrique par câble Ethernet (Power over Ethernet ou PoE en anglais), permet de faire passer une tension de 48 V, jusqu'à 13 watts de puissance électrique, en plus des données à 100 Mbit/s ou 1 Gbit/s. Cette technologie est définie par la norme IEEE 802.3af, appartenant au standard IEEE 802.3 (Ethernet) ratifiée le 11 juin 2003 et publiée le 11 juillet 2003.

Un câble Ethernet est composé de quatre paires de fils. Quand la connexion s'établit à 100 Mbit/s, les données transitent sur deux paires seulement, à savoir les fils 1, 2, 3 et 6. Les deux autres paires inutilisées, à savoir les fils 4, 5, 7 et 8 peuvent être utilisées pour véhiculer le courant électrique. Le PoE peut "passer" par les fils de paires "data", on appelle alors ce mode de fonctionnement "end-point" ou par les fils des paires inutilisées en 100 Mbit/s en mode "mid-span".

Quand la connexion s'établit en 1 Gbit/s, les quatre paires de fils sont utilisées pour les data.

 

Cette technologie a évolué afin de fournir une puissance plus importante et se dénomine PoE+

 

  • PoE vs PoE+ :

 

IEEE 802.3af (PoE) : L'alimentation électrique fournie par l'équipement (commutateur, injecteur) est au maximum de 15,4 W pour une puissance maximum de 12,9 W au niveau du périphérique. La tension nominale est de 48V, et peut varier de 44 V à 57 V en émission.

IEEE 802.3at (PoE+) : Si l'équipement fournissant l'alimentation et le périphérique répondent tous les deux à cette norme, alors il est possible d'utiliser une puissance maximum de 25,5 W au niveau du périphérique pour une émission de 30 W maximal, toujours pour une tension nominale de 48V.

Un câble Ethernet est composé de quatre paires de fils. Quand la connexion s'établit à 100 Mbit/s, les données transitent sur deux paires seulement, à savoir les fils 1, 2, 3 et 6. Les deux autres paires inutilisées, à savoir les fils 4, 5, 7 et 8 peuvent être utilisées pour véhiculer le courant électrique. Le PoE peut "passer" par les fils de paires "data", on appelle alors ce mode de fonctionnement "end-point" ou par les fils des paires inutilisées en 100 Mbit/s en mode "mid-span".

Quand la connexion s'établit en 1 Gbit/s, les quatre paires de fils sont utilisées pour les data.